Bon appetit

My name is Rena and I started this blog for my New Food Activism class. Throughout the semester, I will be posting my ruminations on all things food-related–past and present, organic and deep-fried. I’d like for my focus to be on the relationship between race, class, and nutrition in the United States. I’m interested in how people in low-income areas or “food deserts” negotiate the challenge of eating healthfully without the abundance of options that I am lucky to have. I want to find out about social services, institutionalized feeding events (like school lunches), and the meaning of food movements in communities that can’t afford to buy into the pastoral ideal of raw, pure, organics.

Leave a Reply

